Renewed Spirit and Fight #RealEqualityWearsPink

941919_3111683567347_999525894_n

I have to admit that this whole experience with the wearing PINK on Friday has really awoke something deep inside of me. This has been an extremely tough year for me with the death of my Mama in September, which caused me to spiral into a deep depression where I hid from the world…

To see so many people (from all over the world) come together to support and rally for David, Christopher A. and Christopher K. It is tragic and a fact of life that bad things happen all the time to really good people, and in this case to three young men who didn’t do anything to warrant being attacked. When people are knocked down it is so very important for others to help lift them back up and our community has surely done a great job of that.

You can only get pushed around so much before you say wait a minute… NO MORE!!! Personally I also have gotten to that point in my life as well, where you say enough is enough. As a survivor an important and empowering tool to use is our VOICE but often times it is something that is difficult to use. For a very long time I have struggled with my own voice, knowing when and how to use it. Wanting to stand up but not having the courage to verbalize it. Feeling so defeated that I didn’t think anyone cared to hear my voice. I no longer feel that is the truth because this experience has helped me see that there are those who need to hear my voice.

pinkprofilepic

Plus when you stay silent those who promote and spread hate win and I am determined to conquer their hate. I believe our community feels the say way. While at times we may risk our personal safety, standing together united we form a solid barrier that even the strongest hateful force wouldn’t be able to knock down!

Wearing Pink today shows the world that we aren’t going to take this abuse sitting down anymore, that we have many supporters on our side. The great thing about the pink event is that it helps to start conversations and creates awareness about gay violence and hate. These three tragic events were a wakeup call for many of us, that taught us that there is still a lot of work that needs to be done.

I have to admit that I really wished I was in Columbus now. I feel so energized that I want to be on the forefront making a difference. I also feel rather guilty that I wasn’t able to find a pink tshirt in my size (3xl). Though in the end, as long as we are using our voice and helping to spread the message matters most. You don’t have to wear Pink to make a difference, though it doesn’t hurt! Honestly for as much as I love pink, I am surprised I don’t own anything pink.

Someone on the wear Pink facebook event wanted to know why we were using Pink when it is associated with Breast Cancer. My first thought was to let her have it but then I thought about what often is needed for those outside of the LGBTQ community is education. I believe that is how we will get people to turn to our side is with fact, information and knowledge.

tumblr_lpg6rmKAdf1qisa2ko1_500

For those who don’t know Pink has long been associated with the gay community. It started out in Nazi Germany in the 1930’s and 1940’s when every prisoner in the concentration camps who were labeled as homosexual had to wear a pink triangle on their jacket. It is estimated that between 50,000 to 63,000 men were convicted for homosexuality during that time. Even after the camps were liberated at the end of WWII, many of the pink triangle prisoners were often re-imprisoned by the Allied established Federal Republic of Germany. The nazi amendments which turned homosexualityfrom a minor offense to a felony remained intact in both East and West Germany after the war for a further 24 years.

2011.04-PinkTriangle

During the 1970’s the pink triangle was adopted as a symbol for gay rights protest. Some have linked the reclamation of the pink triangle with a publication of a concentration survivor Heinz Hegaer memoir, The Men with the Pink Triangle. 

It was until the early 1990’s that pink began to be associate with Breast Cancer when they started to pass out pink ribbons. Honestly I believe you can never have too much pink and there is enough love to go around for both worth causes!

Pink-Triangle-Theatre

While it was originally intended as a badge of shame, the gay rights movement reclaimed it, inverted its direction and made it one of the biggest symbols of the movement! As with the pink triangle, the time has come for us to reclaim what has always been ours. You can’t take away our pride, love and spirit! We are turning something negative into a positive. Love will always conquer hate! Always!!!

lgbtlovecbus

Leave a Reply

