Take a Stand and Let Your Voice/Vote Be Heard!

With Election Day upon us I am reminded the importance of letting your voice be heard. I also am sadden that so many people feel like not only does their voice matter but that it doesn’t count. I can relate to this as I have felt this at various times in my life. A person’s voice is a gift that no one truly can take away. Though in the world we live in, it is easy for that voice to be taken away. I have heard countless time in response to voting, my one voice will not make a difference… Or it is just one vote… Sure if you look at the grand scheme of thing it might be easy to justify that but I don’t think people realize how much impact one person can have. Not to mention how many other people in the world are saying the exact same things??? You add up all those votes, and that is A LOT of votes that don’t get counted!!!

As a survivor of sexual abuse, my voice has been something I have always struggled with. I still struggle with it on a daily basis. The world tells you that you can’t, and you start believing it… Well I am here to tell you that you CAN!!! If you look for it, there will always be someone trying to bring you down. That is how they get power, by living off the fears of others. In this world we live in today that is why it is so important to vote because there will always be someone trying to take away what is rightfully yours. Especially with corporations being able to throw unlimited amounts of money at campaigns it is ever so important for every VOTE to be heard. When you don’t vote, not only our you hurting yourself but the rest of the country and future generations. If everyone voted that could, can you imagine how different the face of politics would be???

Which reminds me of something… One common thing I hear via facebook is people talking about how tired they are hearing about politics and/or that they stay out of politics as a whole. I wonder if any of these people think about a time in our country when women couldn’t vote, as well as black people. Look what these brave people had to endure just to get the rights others had taken from them! When I hear someone complain I just want to let them have it by telling them how they have taken this right for-granted!!! Part of me understands, really I do… but there comes a point in life where you just have to STAND UP!!! The alternative is letting people bulldoze your rights, and they won’t think two seconds about doing it. If you don’t think that is possible you really need to do some research. Just look at some Republicans views on legitimate rape. Who would have thought in 2012 we would have candidates that still believed in that craziness??? That is what happens when you don’t vote. Craziness gets elected into office. Vice President candidate Ryan believes in a lot of this malarkey. When the cares of a belief system are put way above humans, that is when you have a major problem. There is nothing godly about that.

Which brings me to gay rights. Some people just don’t get what the commotion is about and why we are so against Romney. They choose to see their beliefs as free speech and gay rights as a platform. It is fine to believe in whatever you want, it is when you begin to vote on laws that take away rights of that said group that it becomes a real problem. Our country has a history of taking away rights from a minority. How can we ever be a land of the free, if we vote on rights of a minority??? Sure if it isn’t in your backyard, you might not understand the severity of an injustice until it starts to creep onto your door step. I wish for once these people, who are against gay rights, could see the damage their votes have on our community.

Say what you want about Obama but he has made leaps and bounds in regards to gay rights. Just because we have made progress it doesn’t mean that we can stop the momentum… because there will be those who will try to take away those rights we should have had from the start. Rights like being able serve our country openly… Having hate crime laws in place to protect us… Having a leader who sees that gay rights is a human right, not a platform. A leader that is willing to stand up in support of gay marriage, knowing the heat he would get from the opposition. Whether you are gay or not, these are all signs of a true leader. Romney has made it clear where he stands on gay rights, as clear as Romney gets… and he is not on our side.

He has made a public declaration:

Even Mitt Romney is dumbfounded that their are gay families. I am sure that is how he sleeps easier at night, by creating a world where there are no gay families that will be affected by the rights he takes away. Am I the only one who sees these declarations as being as dangerous as they really are??? Especially the part of creating a presidential commission on religious liberty!!! It reminds me of the McCarthy hearings.

This message of this blog entry ran loud and clear this morning. I was up late writing this post and saved it as a draft to finish in the morning… As I was on facebook, as I always am, I noticed a post that a facebook friend (who happens to be gay) of mine was tagged in… It was a voting guide on the issues for Obama and Romney…

With the image below, was this:

For those of u still on the fence, this helped me a lot, found it at the tanning salon, not endorsed by either party!

As I looked closer I noticed this was published by the Family Research Council… My intent was to educate others so that they were informed who was sharing this information that wasn’t all factual or unbiased… So I commented on the post to advise that this was published by the FRC which is a very anti-gay organization that has spent a lot of money against the LGBT community… I also stated that in 2010 the FRC spent $25,000 lobbying Congress to not condemn the Uganda “Kill The Gay’s” bill.

This above picture was tagged with at least eight other facebook friends. Think about how many people saw this picture?

Obviously my attempts to educate were not seen as that, and I was osterized for posting my comments. One person even went as far as saying I came there with my agenda? Eventually all the comments were removed in regards and all the people tagged were also removed… This person also said that she had very close friends who were gay, that she supported fully… Which I never debated…

She took it personal and her response really made it clear how she truly felt… Anyone that is a champion of a gay person wouldn’t keep something like that up on their facebook… knowing who was behind it… But that is another story…

After she removed all my comments she posted this:

“Hopefully this takes care of stupid ppl! Please just read and think for yourselves about what issues apply to your beliefs and who sides closest with those!”

In this propaganda just a few of the blatant inaccuracies:

ENDA is listed as being based on sexual behavior

They label DADT as Military Social Engineering

This is an example of the importance of standing up and letting your voice be heard… This is what happens when you don’t. When you don’t take a stand, you allow those who belong to the FRC to lobby rights away from others… Taking a stand can be as simple as not voting for a candidate who is anti gay… Or posting your thoughts on facebook, etc…

People in office who believe in crazy things like legitimate rape, get in office because they are voted in office… As goes with people who are homophobic. During the times we live in, we need every vote we can get that will stand up to this craziness… Without the voice of the people, laws and politicians are voted in by a select few…

A majority should never be allowed to vote on rights of a minority but it happens all the time. That is why it is so important to let your voice be heard and take a stand! If you wait to long, your votes might be voted away and that will be a very scary day… Trust me, I have been there and it isn’t a good day at all…

So I encourage everyone to take a stand and vote with their hearts, thinking about how their vote will effect the world around them. Be the champion for someone today.

Leave a Reply

