Losing our dreams…

Image

Everyone has dreams. They start when we are children. Some are big and some are small. Regardless of the size, dreams are an important part of life. They give us something to look forward to. Something to strive for.

A while ago I started to think about dreams and what happens to a person when they lose their dreams. I believe dreams are a hope for something better and when you lose them, you are losing a part of that hope.

Think about a time when you told someone a dream of yours and they said that is too big or impossible? How did that make you feel? Possibly defeated… It is so easy to let someone else kill your dreams. We allow them to take them away with words. Often times we are the ones who gave up on them.

Image

Life kind of catches up on us. Personally my dream was to be on Broadway. I honestly gave up on that dream because I felt like my time had passed and I wasn’t talented enough. I let life suck the dream out of me. I stopped believing. I didn’t believe in myself. I searched for many years for others to believe in me and when they didn’t give me what I needed I took it as a reflection of who I was or wasn’t.

Believing in yourself is the key. There is never a point in life where it is too late. The only time it is too late is when you die and even then who knows what happens next? I am reminded of this by the example of the actress Kathryn Joosten.

Image

Everyone has the potential for greatness. I think just being on this earth is a sign of greatness. Kathryn is not the only person to show that it is never too late to start making your dreams come true. Sometimes our dreams change but it is when we lose sight of our dreams that we lose that sparkle. We are all meant to shine!

You get the light knocked out of you enough and it is very easy to lose your dreams. Especially in the fast pace world we live today. Many times I have looked back at my life and wondered what have I done the past ten years? Who have I become? I got caught up in this invisible schedule of what I should have accomplished by now. I now realize I am where I am suppose to be. If I hadn’t gone through what I did, I wouldn’t be able to be the person I am today.

Just remember you never really lose your dreams, you’ve just misplaced them. You can always get them back. All you have to do is look in your backyard, where you have buried them. Anything is possible. If our Higher Power “made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them” in six days… We certainly do anything here on earth!!!

If you are struggling seeing your gifts, dreams, etc. take a moment to look at some things you have done in your life. It is easy to forget what you have accomplished. For me, it took looking at a few things I created to see my abilities. We sometimes get tunnel vision and need a mirror to see what we have inside.

Image

The above rose is not only a reminder of my artistic ability but also the heart god gave me. I sometimes look at this beautiful rose and am amazed that I made it. It is almost like someone else made it. I will have to say that it is probably my greatest creation to date. This rose was a mirror that I desperately needed to see because this rose is ME!!!

Everyone has gifts, talents and abilities. We are all diamonds, waiting to shine. Sometimes it helps writing your strengths down. I know it helps me. Draw a diamond with sparkles coming off of it. At each end of the sparkle, write a strength or gift of yours. When you are done you will be surprised with how many wonderful qualities you possess!

Image

Leave a Reply

